Presentation of trophy to finalist Matthew Cassar Torregiani by Ms Anna Mamo. 14.09.2018. 

On the initiative of Mr Eleno Mamo, Birkirkara Tennis Club was set up in 1983 . Due to lack of facilities in Birkirkara we found an  abandoned court in Pembroke and started to make use of it after making it viable. However it was always our ambition to find a suitable site where we could build our Tennis Club with all the facilities.

In July 2000 Parliament unanimously approved the leasing of an area, just off the Birkirkara By Pass to the Club. Work  on plans and designs began and applications were handed to MEPA. After five years of hard work of presentation of various reports among which Environment Impact Statement, our application was approved on the 21st April 2005.

The project which will be accessible to all will have 3  tennis courts with hard base, 2 already in use, from year 2013 complete with floodlights. Court 1 will have seating accommodation for spectators. International tournaments can also be held. The Club House incorporate showers, toilets, gym, snack bar, administration rooms, car par for 22 cars and an embellished recreation area.

2016 earmarked the 10th anniversary from its foundation and a get together was held at the club with a very good attendance from members, helpers and friend of Birkirkara Tennis Club.

2017 is another very important year for the Club as for the first time a Singles Open Tournament sanctioned by the Malta Tennis Federation and sponsored by EnergyBet and Charles Grech & Co.Ltd was organized from the 10th to the 21st of May. In the ladies Singles Elaine Genovese beat Krysta Dimech in the final while in the men's singles Matthew Asciak beat Denzil Agius. A total of 52 players took part in both tournaments.

2018 Birkirkara Tennis Club organized 2 open tournaments one in May and won by Omar Sudzuka and one in September won by Matthew Asciak.

Plans where designed and work supervised by Mr Anthony Mamo our first Club President. Architect in charge Mr Godwin Borg.


Recent Photos

Newest Members